Converter or tuning issues!!!!

Drivetrain discussion including Transmission, Differential, Driveshaft, and related items.
dm1992

Converter or tuning issues!!!!

Post by dm1992 »

I have gotten my PPV back on the road after swapping the camshaft, deleting DOD and getting a mail in tune. Now when I put the car in gear it immediately lurches forward and at a stop it revs to 1200 or so and tries to push through the brakes. Is the problem my torque converter stall being too low or is it a tuning issues. No check engines lights or other warnings of any kind showing up.
Pursuit
Administration Staff

Re: Converter or tuning issues!!!!

Post by Pursuit »

I am not an expert to diagnose this but I have a few observations to share. What size camshaft did you install? I installed a BTR Stage 1 camshaft and it will almost want to push through the brakes with a stock converter. Initially I would get a misfire code as the crankshaft sensor was seeing an unsteady count as the crankshaft was speeding up and slowing down in its rotation. He was able to "mute" the sensitivity threshold of setting the Check Engine illumination. Did your tuner mute or mask any codes to hide anything? Can you data log what is going on and send the log back to your tuner? My tuner was Chris Henry at CHenry Motorsports. Great guy to work with and we were able to fine tune the programing on my car. Good luck!

Maurice
Maurice Sheil

mhsheil@gmail.com

2011 Caprice Phantom Black 9C3
2012 Impala 9C1
1995 9C1 Caprice
1996 GMC Sierra C1500
1996 Chevrolet K2500 Extended Cab, long box, 454, 91,000 rust free miles
1974 SJ Grand Prix 455 well optioned with factory moon roof
bstoner

Post by bstoner »

I also recommend Chris Henry. As for your issue are you still running a stock converter? Normally with a cam change it is a good idea to change converters to match your setup. I would get a new converter no matter what. Makes driving it much more enjoyable.