Page 1 of 1

Middle East cluster programming?

Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2020 4:33 pm
by Mooseman
So now that I have tap shift, it's now become annoying that I can't see which gear I'm in as the cluster doesn't display it because it was originally a 9c1. Looking through available calibrations available from ACDelco's online TDS for a possible 9c3 version, I have only found US/Canada and Middle East available. I could try loading that calibration into my cluster however I'm afraid to brick it and parts here for the Caprice are as rare as hen's teeth and I'd lose my original cluster and recorded mileage. And I don't know what kind of functionality I would get or lose with it.

Anybody have any insight or ideas before I even try this?

Re: Middle East cluster programming?

Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2020 8:18 pm
by 119C3NJ
MY 2011 9C3 SHOWS THE GEAR IN SPORT AND MANUAL MODE. LSXTREME SELLS HOLDEN AND HSV CLUSTERS THAT ACT THE SAME WAY.

Re: Middle East cluster programming?

Posted: Fri Sep 11, 2020 10:22 pm
by Pursuit
Swapping out a cluster will red flag as odometer tampering. Can Chris White at WAMS help you out?

Regards,

Maurice

Re: Middle East cluster programming?

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 3:17 am
by Mooseman
Chris might be able to do it but shipping between Canada and US has been as slow as the Pony Express and Chris ain't cheap!

I couldn't find a 9c3 specific option unless it's a setup question it might ask before actually doing the programming. If I had a spare cluster I would experiment with it but again, none available here.

Re: Middle East cluster programming?

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 11:26 am
by smwalker
Does it show the calibration part number on the programming system?
IF you could list the options you have maybe we can look at out part numbers in engineering mode and see what matches?

Re: Middle East cluster programming?

Posted: Mon Sep 14, 2020 2:33 pm
by Mooseman
I just looked at TIS/TDS again and I missed there is also an option for configuration and setup. I'm going to have to renew my subscription to TDS and see if I can change the configuration on my cluster.

I've been poking around here for programming info. Older vehicles would show all the software versions that were available and the changes. For these vehicles, not so much. I'll have to poke around some more. Will be interesting to see what's available.

Re: Middle East cluster programming?

Posted: Tue Sep 15, 2020 10:49 pm
by dkg
This is interesting. You would almost definitely lose the trap speed setting and certified message but having a gear display sounds like a fair trade to me. When I put the vin from my 2011 in to TIS I get 3 options- programming, config and setup, and odometer programming. The first two have further options for middle East and "other", the only option under odometer programming is "USA and Canada police cars". Is yours the same?

Re: Middle East cluster programming?

Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 4:35 pm
by Pursuit
On my 9C3, the Trap Speed, Certified Speedometer, Sport Mode, Manual Mode displays are all functional. I would imagine they all could be added and/or retained.

Maurice

Re: Middle East cluster programming?

Posted: Wed Sep 16, 2020 7:45 pm
by Mooseman
Sorry, been busy. Haven't looked into this much.

The odometer programming usually only works on brand new clusters. Well, that's my experience on trucks.

I wouldn't mind losing trap speed and the certified message, just as long as the cluster doesn't display in Arabic :lol:

I'll update once I get some time to work on this.