New Caprice - Discussion forums
http://www.newcaprice.com/forum/

Tap Shift for a 9C1 with a G8 Shifter
http://www.newcaprice.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=1030
Page 1 of 1

Author:  91C02920 [ Thu Dec 03, 2015 4:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Tap Shift for a 9C1 with a G8 Shifter

Hi, I wanted to know if you can add Tap Shift to a 9C1 using a G8 shifter (or 9C3 shifter same difference as far as I can tell).
My assumption is yes, as you seem to have done it for Kevin Sullivan, but honestly I don't know if that was a one off of some sorts, or just putting in the factory tap shift, and I don't see a tap shift option on the order page.

Also, do you need my BCM or can I send in any BCM I get from the junk yard?
I wanted to ask in case you need to copy the factory setup for my car for some reason.

Thanks

Author:  GTPprix [ Thu Dec 03, 2015 10:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tap Shift for a 9C1 with a G8 Shifter

Yes but please contact us from our website.

Author:  S13REMI [ Sat Dec 12, 2015 5:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tap Shift for a 9C1 with a G8 Shifter

also very interested in this. tried reaching out to you via the website and never heard back.

Author:  GTPprix [ Sun Dec 13, 2015 12:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Tap Shift for a 9C1 with a G8 Shifter

S13REMI wrote:
also very interested in this. tried reaching out to you via the website and never heard back.


When did you contact us? We are only open on the weekends but typically try to reply at night during the week if at all possible.

Author:  S13REMI [ Sun Dec 13, 2015 2:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tap Shift for a 9C1 with a G8 Shifter

about a month ago. Ill do it again today

Author:  GTPprix [ Mon Dec 14, 2015 7:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tap Shift for a 9C1 with a G8 Shifter

FYI didn't get anything for a PPV (nothing in our spam either).

Author:  cal30_sniper [ Mon Nov 21, 2016 4:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tap Shift for a 9C1 with a G8 Shifter

Dragging this up, I just inquired on your website about this feature as well. I'm stuck between doing the BCM re-program, or modifying the shifter and using the Holden sport/TC switch like PPV did in his swap. I'd prefer to do it as per the factory and retain the tap shift function of the G8/9C3.

Author:  Maxspeed96ct [ Fri Sep 29, 2017 10:37 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Tap Shift for a 9C1 with a G8 Shifter

Bump to this old thread. I'm in the process of installing a g8 shifter and would like to enable sport and tutd on the g8 shifter.

Aside from having chris program the Bcm. What are the wiring details?

I see from another thread is says pin 1 on the shifter goes to pin 17 on the Bcm . Then pin 4 on the shifter goes to 30 on the BcM.

Is that all there is to it ? What happens to my old gray Sport wire in pin 5 ?

Author:  Big Rich 01 [ Fri Oct 27, 2017 3:10 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Tap Shift for a 9C1 with a G8 Shifter

Maxspeed96ct wrote:
Bump to this old thread. I'm in the process of installing a g8 shifter and would like to enable sport and tutd on the g8 shifter.

Aside from having chris program the Bcm. What are the wiring details?

I see from another thread is says pin 1 on the shifter goes to pin 17 on the Bcm . Then pin 4 on the shifter goes to 30 on the BcM.

Is that all there is to it ? What happens to my old gray Sport wire in pin 5 ?



ditto

Author:  91C02920 [ Tue Nov 07, 2017 8:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Tap Shift for a 9C1 with a G8 Shifter

Big Rich 01 wrote:
Maxspeed96ct wrote:
Bump to this old thread. I'm in the process of installing a g8 shifter and would like to enable sport and tutd on the g8 shifter.

Aside from having chris program the Bcm. What are the wiring details?

I see from another thread is says pin 1 on the shifter goes to pin 17 on the Bcm . Then pin 4 on the shifter goes to 30 on the BcM.

Is that all there is to it ? What happens to my old gray Sport wire in pin 5 ?



ditto



Maxspeed96ct got his done and posted details on the wires:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2377

Also check this thread on how to wire it up:
viewtopic.php?f=21&t=1578

I did exactly as I posted there.

Both Maxspeed96ct and I didn't need any special programing to get TUTD to work in our cars after it was wired according to factory, so install and wire your shifter up first and test it out. if it doesn't work for some reason, Chris would be the man to talk to .

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/