Activating the Navigation function on my 2012 PPV radio

Electronic systems, stereo and Holden iQ, wiring, it all goes here....
Post Reply
keherrington
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 7:35 pm

Activating the Navigation function on my 2012 PPV radio

Post by keherrington » Thu May 01, 2014 11:53 pm

How do I activate the Navigation function on my radio? Do I need to replace the radio unit with another?
Keith

K9Vic
Posts: 241
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 2:36 am
Location: Fort Worth
Contact:

Re: Activating the Navigation function on my 2012 PPV radio

Post by K9Vic » Fri May 02, 2014 12:30 am

you cannot and yes.

User avatar
elc32955
System Manager
Posts: 1788
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 4:32 pm
Location: East Central Florida
Contact:

Re: Activating the Navigation function on my 2012 PPV radio

Post by elc32955 » Fri May 02, 2014 3:13 am

You might be able to source a Aus. version radio through either Crazy Paul or through JHP. Be aware it will be pricy, and you have to get the US maps for it as well if you want the NAV active. I think JHP does provide the maps if you purchase their unit. Greg (one of our other users) did go the JHP route and his navi is working, his is the only Caprice in the US that I know of that has active nav.

Welcome to the wonderful world of GM's "de-contenting" to cheapen the vehicles for police service. Most of what has been done we've found workarounds or other solutions for, the nav option is just one of those you have to throw your wallet at to make it happy.

Eric
System Manager and your tourguide for the day. Caprice Alumni, former owner of a 2011 Caprice 9C3 with a Rotofab CAI and front radiator cover, 3.45 LSD Camaro rear diff, Chris Henry performance tune, G8 GT 18" Enkei rims w/Holden lions, custom SLP axle-back muffler set with tips, Holden WM Caprice factory spoiler, Holden SSV leather steering wheel and leather shift knob, Whelen Alpha-12Q airhorn amp. G8 GT rear seat swap, AVS Ventshades.

radrace19
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 8:46 pm

Re: Activating the Navigation function on my 2012 PPV radio

Post by radrace19 » Fri May 02, 2014 6:01 pm

You will only need a few parts.
You will need the silver nav box from Australia. This is the hard and expensive part to find, and you will need the TMC splitter.

Then send the box to Chris White for programming and US maps. All of your current trim and radio faceplate will work just fine.
-Greg

gregc
Posts: 232
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 12:13 am

Re: Activating the Navigation function on my 2012 PPV radio

Post by gregc » Sat May 03, 2014 5:13 am

Nav not worth it, in my opinion. The Nav on my iPhone connected to my upgraded radio works better. I use my iPhone as an IPOD and I use the Maps app on the phone. Whenever it gives me turn by turn directions, the music volume lowers so I can hear the directions. This can be done via Bluetooth as well, but your phone battery dies faster.

Like everyone else said, in order to get the Nav to function, you need to get a radio that has the Nav components in it.

GTPprix
Posts: 259
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:06 pm
Location: Metro Detroit MI
Contact:

Re: Activating the Navigation function on my 2012 PPV radio

Post by GTPprix » Sat May 10, 2014 4:09 pm

gregc wrote:Nav not worth it, in my opinion. The Nav on my iPhone connected to my upgraded radio works better. I use my iPhone as an IPOD and I use the Maps app on the phone. Whenever it gives me turn by turn directions, the music volume lowers so I can hear the directions. This can be done via Bluetooth as well, but your phone battery dies faster.

Like everyone else said, in order to get the Nav to function, you need to get a radio that has the Nav components in it.
This is why you don't get JHP's external non OEM nav ;(
Chris White
http://www.whiteautoandmedia.com" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
2015 Jeep SRT - Stock for a hot minute.
2016 SRX - Custom BCM/HMI - More to come
2016 Yukon Denali XL - Custom BCM/HMI/IPC

Post Reply