Just got my 2012 9c1

Welcome new members, please make your first post in this section. Say hello & tell us a little bit about you and your car. We're happy to see you here!
Forum rules
Welcome new members, please make your first post in this section. Say hello & tell us a little bit about you and your car. We're happy to see you here!
Maschinenbau

Just got my 2012 9c1

Post by Maschinenbau »

Hello world!

I just received my 2012 9C1 (I think? The shifter is off to the side and it has no center console). It has 99k miles on it, formerly owned by the Allegany airport. I had it shipped from western PA to the western Chicago suburbs which I call home. I'm a mechanical engineer at electro-motive diesel, working on natural gas conversion kits for freight locomotives.

I've only driven the car a few times around town, but am already in love.

For several years now I've been wanting to move up to a torquier car from my 2006 Mazda MX-5 (miata), and figured I'd need an actual backseat since I've got a bunch of kids. I never had the means to pick up a G8 when they where on the market, so I was glad to hear they "came back" as the caprice. A used police car, I decided, was the perfect platform for my rwd v8 platform that met my realistic car criteria. I needed a car that I wouldn't cry over when the kids ran their bike handlebars down the dude (and the "hose out" vinyl backseat is a big plus).
And now I've got one!

I'm starting my punch list of everything that I'll need to get it to a comfortable daily driver status, and I'll forever keep a fantasy list of what I'd like to do, but probably won't.

First, gotta address the A/C. Hoping it's just low on refrigerant. Windshield squirter line is busted - gotta fix that too.

Next, the rear licence plate lamps are blacked out. I think that's a legal issue in my state. Do I need to disable the spot might to be legal?

Needs tires - haven't decided if I'll do summer and winter performance tires or just stick with all seasons.