Stabilitrak question

Suspension, brake, and hydraulic/electric steering discussion.
Jaked1985
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 4:13 am

Stabilitrak question

Post by Jaked1985 » Wed Oct 17, 2018 1:02 am

So, I picked up my '11 last weekend and am starting to work my way through some of its quirks.
Typical suspension noise, sounds like strut bushings on the front and rear passenger side.
One thing though I haven't been able to nail down yet is that when driving through town, or on the highway, I will occasionally see the "stabilitrak system control" pop up on the dic in the instrument panel. It shows up and is gone within a second. Seems to happen on rough surfaces, could this be an abs sensor, strut problem?

s/c'd cav
Posts: 534
Joined: Mon May 30, 2016 8:12 am
Location: PHOENIX AZ

Re: Stabilitrak question

Post by s/c'd cav » Wed Oct 17, 2018 4:24 pm

rough road seams to say suspension issue more than a abs sensor

User avatar
sardillim
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:45 am
Location: Easton Ct

Re: Stabilitrak question

Post by sardillim » Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:45 am

is the check engine light on or are there engine codes?

Jaked1985
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 4:13 am

Re: Stabilitrak question

Post by Jaked1985 » Thu Oct 18, 2018 2:37 am

Yeah, there is a code right now for the oil pressure sensor. PO521 if I remember right. I haven't got around to messing with it, I'm assuming it's either the sender or the screen underneath it. Torque app shows 33lbs of oil pressure at operating temp.

User avatar
Mooseman
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 4:35 am
Location: Ottawa, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Stabilitrak question

Post by Mooseman » Thu Oct 18, 2018 3:19 am

You might need to find a high end scanner that can read current and historical ABS and BCM codes. Best would be a Tech 2 but you could try a BlueTooth OBD adapter with the Car Gauge Pro app on Android.
2011 Caprice PPV, 1 of possibly 4 in Canada!
Image

User avatar
sardillim
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2014 3:45 am
Location: Easton Ct

Re: Stabilitrak question

Post by sardillim » Fri Oct 19, 2018 3:20 am

you might want to focus on the engine codes first, if the check engine light comes on it will in most cases disable stabilitrak, Stabilitrak can only function when the engine is running correctly

Jaked1985
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 4:13 am

Re: Stabilitrak question

Post by Jaked1985 » Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:32 am

Thanks for the input guys. I was able to pull the current and historic codes. Nothing related to the stabilitrak, abs or speed sensor.

I'll figure out what I need to do to get rid of the oil pressure sensor code and go from there.

User avatar
Mooseman
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 4:35 am
Location: Ottawa, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Stabilitrak question

Post by Mooseman » Fri Oct 19, 2018 1:51 pm

You might have try and get codes after it happens. I once had an intermittent Stabilitrak code in my truck and I could only get it only after it happened and kept it running to not lose it. Turning off the ignition would reset it each time.
2011 Caprice PPV, 1 of possibly 4 in Canada!
Image

Jaked1985
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 4:13 am

Re: Stabilitrak question

Post by Jaked1985 » Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:15 pm

I'll keep that in mind, I've been driving the car about 60 miles a day for the last week and I haven't seen the message pop up since the first day. I have my bluetooth scanner plugged in, so I can check the codes on the fly as well as log data. I haven't really figured everything out yet as far as it's functions. I bought it specifically for this car and it's proven to be the best $20 I've spent in a long time. Lol

User avatar
Mooseman
Posts: 275
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 4:35 am
Location: Ottawa, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Stabilitrak question

Post by Mooseman » Fri Oct 19, 2018 6:24 pm

If you're just using Torque, it won't get any ABS or BCM codes. The only one that I know of is Car Gauge Pro that is able to do those.
2011 Caprice PPV, 1 of possibly 4 in Canada!
Image

Post Reply