Tunes and I don't mean iTunes

Drivetrain discussion including Transmission, Differential, Driveshaft, and related items.
ImpalaPPV

Tunes and I don't mean iTunes

Post by ImpalaPPV »

I am relatively new to the idea of "tuning" your car's computer and I am curious as to what can and cannot be done. In the past I have spoken with companies about tuning my Impala PPV but I never actually went through with it. I couldn't justify $400 plus dollars for a few extra HP and slightly firmer shifts from my trans. However, now I have my sights set on a 2014 (big fan of column shifted automatics) and up Caprice PPV V8 and I want to know what can and cannot be adjusted with an aftermarket tune. I feel like it will be simpler to list what I would like to have "adjusted" rather than ask the blanket question of what can be tuned so here is what I am looking for. Those familiar with tuning BCMs and ECMs and whatever needs a tune please feel free to chime in. Any help is greatly appreciated.

1: Traction and stability control completely off unless I turn it on. Can the switches be programmed to work opposite from factory -meaning the car starts every time with TC and SC off unless I push the buttons which would then turn it on?

2: Torque management -pretty much 90% off or off completely.

3: Tuning for modifications to drive train. Can we tune for headers, intake, and exhaust without a dyno? I do not plan on adding a blower but I would like to get 400+ crank HP out of a mildly modified engine. I am looking to add headers, an exhaust, a cold air intake, and roller rocker arms (if available).