New Caprice - Discussion forums

The worldwide owner-to-owner online support system for the Chevrolet Caprice PPV
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:24 am

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 2:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 6:43 pm
Posts: 91
I plan to rebuild my L77 later in the year, but for now would like to add a CAI and a axle back muffler
(Solo) system. Does it need a retune with those two items?? I hate to dump money into a short lived set-up as like I say the motor will be redone without the DOD set-up later this year.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 3:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 12:13 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Tampa, FL
You will not need a tune for the axle back since everything that changes is downstream of the second O2 sensor. The CAI will most likely need a tune. Some people have gotten lucky but generally CAI's will throw a MIL.

_________________
2014 Chevrolet Caprice PPV
2014 Chevrolet Stingray Z51
2016 Cadillac ATS-V
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 12:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 2:12 am
Posts: 142
Location: South Bend, IN
you shouldn't need a tune for a CAi. I've had two and never had a problem


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun May 21, 2017 1:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2016 12:13 pm
Posts: 200
Location: Tampa, FL
indianajoe wrote:
you shouldn't need a tune for a CAi. I've had two and never had a problem


indianajoe,
Have you logged fuel trims on your car after installation of a CAI and what types have you installed? Just wondering. I've seen a mixed bag and it depends on the design of the CAI and style.

_________________
2014 Chevrolet Caprice PPV
2014 Chevrolet Stingray Z51
2016 Cadillac ATS-V
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2017 2:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2016 2:12 am
Posts: 142
Location: South Bend, IN
havent done any datalogging, but I've had a vararam and vcm otr intakes and it didn't throw a code


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group