Clone tech 2

Caprice and GM-related general tech topics. Questions & topics on vehicle tuning, HP Tuners use, etc.....
Post Reply
crd
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2021 5:36 pm

Clone tech 2

Post by crd » Sat Oct 09, 2021 5:49 pm

I am looking at buying a clone tech 2. Has anyone use one if so what are you thoughts

User avatar
elc32955
System Manager
Posts: 2103
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2012 4:32 pm
Location: East Central Florida
Contact:

Re: Clone tech 2

Post by elc32955 » Sun Oct 10, 2021 9:23 pm

Just my brief 2 cents worth, some Tech 2 clones are better then others. I almost bought a clone a number of years back to work on my 2011, but the amount of times I'd use the device didn't justify the bucks I'd spend for it. There are some threads here that do discuss Tech 2 clones if I remember correctly, make sure to read those and carefully research before you leap. Once you spend on this kind of device it's almost impossible to get your money back. Also beware of people selling what they say are genuine Tech 2's (from closed dealerships, privately owned, yada yada) as a lot of time they're clones and concealing the genuine nature to make more bucks. There's plenty of resource info on the net about the subject, even YouTube videos... And don't forget the CANdi module!

Good luck!
Eric
System Manager and your tour guide for the day. 2015 Caprice 3.6, former NC DPS staff car. Partial hybrid G8/SS/Camaro SS interior mods, otherwise bone stock for now.

crd
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2021 5:36 pm

Re: Clone tech 2

Post by crd » Mon Oct 11, 2021 4:29 am

Thanks for the advice.

User avatar
Mooseman
Posts: 647
Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 4:35 am
Location: Ottawa, ON Canada
Contact:

Re: Clone tech 2

Post by Mooseman » Wed Oct 13, 2021 3:21 pm

Also posted to your other thread.

I have one and it's a great tool however I have a 2011 and it works with it. Yours being a 2013 is on the edge of not being compatible so it may not work. And it wouldn't be compatible with anything beyond 2013. I'd get a GM MDI instead. It's backwards compatible and you'd be future proofed, at least for now.

Just be careful if ordering from overseas, like from Aliexpress, as the US Customs lately have been seizing them and charging importers of these Chinese clones. Be sure you order from somewhere that's shipping from the US. Had a guy on another forum I'm on have his seized and facing possible heavy fines. Luckily he only lost the Tech 2.
2011 Caprice PPV, former RCMP test vehicle, never put into service
Build Thread: http://www.newcaprice.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2419

crd
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2021 5:36 pm

Re: Clone tech 2

Post by crd » Fri Oct 15, 2021 4:08 pm

Thanks for replying. I decided to go with the vxdiag vcx nano tech2win instead. It has the gm mdi. You need your own laptop. Just got it loaded and running on the laptop. Its a pain to get up and going however its seems to work well. Our cars are difficult to located within the system.

Post Reply